Town of Avilla Boards & Commissions

Town Hall Avilla Hometown NewsThe Town of Avilla Boards and Commissions and their members are imperative to the operation and administration of our community.

If you are interested in becoming a member and serving on of any of our Boards or Commissions that have a vacancy, there is no application to fill out to apply. Interested parties are encouraged to contact the President of the Board or Commission they are interested in joining or the Town Hall. Candidates will be interviewed and there will be a public meeting for voting on candidates into position openings.


Town Council

Three members are elected at large to serve four-year terms. Members make administrative and executive decisions for the Town of Avilla as well as for the Water, Electric and Sewage Utilities Departments.


Current Members:
Paul Shepherd, President – 897.3379
William Krock, Jr. – 242.1520
Philip Puckett, Jr. – 897.3690


Meetings are held third Wednesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. at the Avilla Town Hall.

Board of Zoning Appeals

Members meet to consider petitions for variance and special exceptions from the Avilla Zoning Ordinance and appeals to decisions of the Zoning Administrator or Plan Commission – i.e., reduction of the minimum setback for a structure or approval of the use of a property only allowed by special exception.

Current Members:

William Freeman, Jr., President – 897.3765

Joshua Lash – 582.9228

Jonathan Miller – 897.2794



Meetings are held as needed at the Avilla Town Hall.

Parks Board

The membership of this board is responsible for administering and executing the operation of Eley  Memorial Park on West Albion Street, the Ley Street Park, northeast of Noble County Public Library – Avilla on Ley Street and Heritage Park on East Albion Street.

Current Members:

Jessica Balyeat, President – 242.3848
Nathan Hicks, Vice President – 452.8027
Ann Freeman, Secretary – 564.4409
Megan Kline

Meetings are the first Thursday of every month and begin at 7:30 p.m., at the Community Center.

Plan Commission

This board is responsible for the approval of all applications for subdivision and recommended yes or no to the Avilla Town Council on all petitions to change the zoning classification of property within the Town of Avilla and its jurisdictional area.

The jurisdictional area extends from the corporation boundaries of the town to the Dekalb County line to the east, to the centerline of CR 300N and State Road 8 to the north, 1/4 mile west of CR 800E to the west, and 1/4 mile south of Baseline Road to the south.


Current Members:

Tena Woenker, President – 308.8772

Joshua Lash, Secretary  – 582.9228

Paul Shepherd – 897.3379

Philip Puckett, Jr. – 897.3690

William Freeman, Jr. – 897.3765

Robert Ley – 897.3881

Michael Baker – 897.4124




Meetings are held on the first Wednesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. at the Avilla Town Hall.

Redevelopment Commission

Members are responsible for the expenditure of the TIF (Tax Increment Funds) to facilitate redevelopment of the TIF area.

Current Members:
Todd Carteaux, President – 897.3906
Joshua Lash, Secretary – 582.9228
Tena Woenker – 308.8772
Brent Durbin – 437.6591
Joshua Harper – 242.2631
Ross Freeman – 564.4377
Kurt Kline

Meetings are held on the second Thursday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in Avilla Town Hall.

Utility Rate Advisory Board

This board is responsible for the approval or disapproval of changes and updates to Avilla utility fees and rates.

Current Members:

Charles Casavant – 897.2506

Todd Carteaux – 897.3906





Meetings are held as needed at the Avilla Town Hall.

The Town of Avilla Indiana
error: Content is protected !!